Deadly Sins

Centuries ago, when Christian leaders were exploring the (really fun) topic of sin, they identified the “central” sin of humanity as pride. After identifying pride as the central sin, the leaders assembled a list of “origin” sins, meaning that all sins stem from this list: lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy, and pride. When we think about the sins that exist in our world today, it is easy to tie them back to one of the seven. Through the power of God, we are able to live free from the power of sin and its grip on our lives. This is NOT behavior modification, meaning a change that only happens on the surface. No, it’s much deeper, going to the “why” of what we think, say, and do. God can change and transform our very nature and being. The message of the Gospel is that God has come to the world to change the hearts of people, so that they can be in perfect harmony with Him and experience His resurrection and freedom from sin. This is good news!

Inside The Guide

Each guide is broken up into six weeks. Below is a small insight into each week.

Lust & Chastity

When we make a commitment to follow God, our earthly nature should die. How does lust kill our Godly spirit, and how can we move towards a pure life?

Gluttony & Temperance

When is gluttony related to more than just food? What other things might I desire in excess that keep me from focusing on God?

Greed & Generosity

What is God asking me to be content with in my life, and when I honestly search my heart, how much do I desire things I do not have?

Sloth & Diligence

When people look at my life, do they see more discipline or laziness, and does this reflect God or not?

Wrath & Envy, Patience & Kindness

Why is God’s wrath good even though He tells people not to take revenge, and instead of wrath how am I to treat those that hurt me?

Pride & Humility

How does the life of Jesus model humility, and how can I take steps away from pride today?

Ready to Start Soul Exercises?